As Seen On TV: Part 1

During football season when the games were on major channels, I couldn’t help but notice the filth of the commercials advertising prime time TV shows.  They are meant to be sexually appealing.  They also use curse words frequently, and the violence can’t be overlooked either.  You might be agreeing with me as you read this or possibly defending prime time TV because some of your favorite shows fall under that category.  Well, just know that what I say isn’t meant to offend, but only to make you think.

The first show I would like to deal with is CSI.  Regardless of what most people say, I don’t see a difference between the CSIs.  Whether it is Miami, New York, or whatever else there has been in the past or is right now, this must be examined closely.  A few weeks back, my brother and I saw a post on Facebook describing a certain episode of CSI, so we were curious what was being talked about and looked it up on YouTube to see what it was all about.  In just one short scene, we heard three curse words, realized a less than pleasant plot to the show, and saw some violence that was actually pretty disgusting.  I was appalled at the plot of the show, but I was more appalled that the post on Facebook came from a strong Christian.  What is a Christian doing watching a whole show of that garbage?  One scene turned me off from it, so how is one to justify viewing a whole show like that?  I often hear the excuse that TV is just a show and is meant to take your mind off of things, so it shouldn’t be that big of a deal.  To those people, I want to ask what they do with verses like Romans 8:5-8. When you are seeing people getting shot by guns and watching their blood spill, are you thinking on spiritual things?

Remember, what goes in your mind does not come out, ever.   It is stuck there, so what are you going to fill your mind with?  Are you going to watch a show that depicts evil as good, is fine with cussing, and subjects you to violence that no one should be watching?  So, what should a Christian do with CSI?  Turn it off!  No one should be putting those things in their mind.

This is the first post in a series on prime time TV, but before I’m done, I wanted to mention one more.  I didn’t want to write a whole post on the hit show Glee because my brother’s post on it was excellent.  Please take a little extra time to read this post as well.  You will not be disappointed.

About joethepreacher

I am a preaching student at Bear Valley Bible Institute
This entry was posted in Time. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to As Seen On TV: Part 1

  1. Very Good Thoughts! we all (including myself) must keep our minds pure!

Leave a comment